AccuNet's considers ADA accessibility, even if not requested.

Always Striving for ADA Compliance

The Department of Justice (DOJ) created the “ADA Standards for Accessible Design,” in 2010. Website ADA compliance was born from the World Wide Web Consortium (W3C), who oversees the Web Content Accessibility Guidelines (WCAG). The guidelines are broken down into three levels: A, AA, AAA.

The top level, WCAG AAA ,equates to 100% compliance to Section 508 regulations within the United States Workforce Rehabilitation Act of 1973. The DOJ has acknowledged that it is not practical for a website to adhere to AAA because it greatly impacts a website’s performance, design and presentation.

Following industry standards, Civic Clarity websites are reviewed against WCAG 2.aAA guideline errors and every attempt is made to meet its requirements. We pay particular attention to:

  • WAVE errors
  • Keyboard navigation
  • Heading order
  • Screen magnification experience
  • Color contrast standards